Fortnite brings back Kevin the cube, then shuts down after Operation: Sky Fire event – CNET

fortnite-sky-fire-event
Here’s everything you need to know to prepare for Operation: Sky Fire.
Epic Games

Cubes are currently taking over Fortnite as a result of Operation: Sky Fire, shaping up the next Season…
According to Epic, players “join a strike team and sneak aboard the Mothership to deliver IO’s final message to the invading aliens,” wrapping up the story threads that’ve been running through the entire season. 

The screen players see when trying to play Fortnite
Energy began firing out of “Kevin” killing other players, but it seemingly ran out of juice and laid dormant. This is when players realized they were merely pawns as their backpacks turned into bombs. However, one by one they began rebooting “Kevin” turning it blue. Before the bomb exploded, players then saw other cubes had been rebooted as well. After a flash, the mothership was a floating wreck and multiple “Kevins” began falling to the island. One piece of wreckage slams into the player and up comes the “To Be Continued…” screen.
Epic Games

Following Operation: Sky Fire, Epic shut down Fortnite for the next 13 hours. Players will have to wait until Monday, 2 a.m. PT (5 a.m. ET) to play the game again. 

Why can’t I play Fortnite?

Server downtime for Chapter 2 Season 8 (v18.00) begins September 13 at 02:00 AM ET (06:00 UTC). Stay tuned for updates! pic.twitter.com/llldgEjy4E

When did Fortnite’s Operation: Sky Fire event start?

The screen players see when trying to play Fortnite.

What is Operation: Sky Fire?

Fortnite‘s Season 7 ending event, Operation: Sky Fire, had players go through a wild space ride with an exciting cliffhanger. To add to the tension, publisher Epic Games has shut down the game until the start of season 8 on Monday. 
Season 8 can’t come soon enough.

Operation: Sky Fire put players in the role of infiltrators sent to an alien mothership to take it down with bombs strapped to their backs. While the ship did come down, so did a lot of other strange objects that players won’t understand until the start of Fortnite season 8. 

When does season 8 start?

Operation: Sky Fire started at 1 p.m. Pacific Time / 4 p.m. Eastern Time on Sunday, Sept. 12. It lasted for approximately 12 minutes.