New Canada Research Chairs in Philosophy

The Canada Research Chairs program funds scholars to support “research excellence in engineering and the natural sciences, health sciences, humanities, and social sciences” and “improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada’s international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people through student supervision, teaching, and the coordination of other researchers’ work.”

They are:

  • Kimberley Brownlee, Canada Research Chair in Ethics and Political and Social Philosophy at the University of British Columbia
  • Chike Jeffers, Canada Research Chair in Africana Philosophy at Dalhousie University
  • Francesca Vidotto, Canada Research Chair in Foundations of Physics at Western University

[Yabu Pushelberg, “Rua Ipanema Chair”]
You can see the full list of new and renewed chairs here.
The government of Canada recently named 93 new Canada Research Chairs, and three of them are philosophers.